Young ESPID

Young ESPID is a group of members who are in training and early career, generally under 40 years and/or who are in training / have completed training to become a paediatric infectious disease specialist <3 years ago.

Welcome message
 
Welcome to “Young ESPID”, the future of Paediatric Infectious Diseases in Europe and beyond. “Young ESPID” was founded in 2010, we started with 35 members and in 2017 we are now just over 500 from 75 different countries. As a group of under-40s we support the ESPID board and its committees. We also have YE country representatives from 35 different countries that help us link with PID doctors and spread the word of ESPID job and training opportunities elsewhere.
 
All the ESPID committees have 2 Young ESPID members and are currently focusing on:
 
- Facilitating communication between ESPID members
- Participation in educational activities: ESPID online courses, ESPID case rounds
- Active roll in preparing the ESPID annual meeting
- Young ESPID meeting –formal AGM (annual general meeting) since 2016 attending the YE AGM gets you good standing points - helpful for applying for travel awards / grants
- Speed dating
- MTP (meet the professor sessions)
- WMW (Walter Marget workshop)
- ERMC (ESPID research masterclass)
- ESPID educational booth
- Evaluating PID training world-wide
- Improvement of the ESPID website
- Visibility of training possibilities and job opportunities
- Visibility of research consortia
 
The Young ESPID representatives are also on the ESPID board and take an active part in all their meetings making sure ESPID is aware of what their more junior PID doctors need and expect from the society.
 
We want to invite you to become actively involved in Young ESPID, and take your chance to help shape the future of Paediatric Infectious Diseases.
 
New ideas are always welcome!
 
If you are interested in contributing to any of these activities and would like to be kept up-to-date on Young ESPID you can contact us through youngespid@espid.org
 
With kind regards,
 
Raluca Lixandru and Eleni Vergadi
 
This years YE Meeting Agenda can be viewed here.
 
 
Young ESPID representatives 
 
 
Who’s involved in Young ESPID?
 
 
Country Representative Email Term Began Senior ESPID Rep  Term Began
Argentina Martin Eduardo Brizuela martin.brizuela1984@gmail.com      
Armenia Sose Margaryan sosemargar@gmail.com Jul-22 Hrachuhi Ghazaryan 2024
Australia Hazel Dobinson h.dobinson@live.com.au Sep-22    
Austria Sebastian Baier-Grabner sebastian.grabner@hotmail.com Jan-24    
Belgium Siel Daelemans siel.daelemans@gmail.com      
Brasil Daniel Jarovsky daniel@jarovsky.com.br Jun-15 Prof. Eitan Naaman Berezin  2024
Bulgaria Petar Velikov petar.kr.velikov@gmail.com      
Cambodia Sam Lyvannak vannak_samly@yahoo.com      
Canada Stephanie Zahradnik  stephanie.zahradnik@sickkids.ca Apr-24    
Croatia Vedran Stevanović vedran.stevanovic@gmail.com May-23 Prof. Goran Tešović  2024
Cyprus  Athina Aristidou athina.aristeidou@hotmail.com Jun-24 Dr Maria Mazeri Koliou 2024
Czech Republic Jitka Bolchová jitka.bolchova@gmail.com Sep-22    
Egypt Ali Sobh alisobh82@gmail.com      
Estonia Anna-Liisa Kerna annaliisav@gmail.com Apr-24 Piia Jogi 2024
Finland Lauri Ivaska ljivas@utu.fi Feb-23    
France Zein Assad assad.zein@gmail.com Mar-24 Pr Naim Ouldali  2024
Georgia  Teona Khurtsidze Tetuka90@gmail.com Jun-23    
Germany Benedikt Spielberger benedikt.spielberger@uniklinik-freiburg.de Feb-23    
Greece Filippos Filippatos filipfilippatos@gmail.com   Professor Athanasios Michos  2024
Hungary  Szofia Hajósi-Kalcakosz szoofia@gmail.com Aug-22    
India Akshatha Ravindra drakshathadmid@gmail.com Apr-24 Dr Vidya Krishna 2024
Ireland Deirdre Foley deirdrefoley731@gmail.com Jun-22    
Israel Liat Ashkenazi-Hoffnung liat.ashkenazi@clalit.org.il Aug-22    
Italy Marta Stracuzzi martastrac@gmail.com Sep-22    
Malaysia Bazlin Ramly  bazlinramly@gmail.com Mar-23    
Mexico Oscar Tamez o.tamez@gmail.com      
Nepal Saugat Bhandari saugatbhandari2014@gmail.com Feb-24    
Nigeria Olajumoke Aladenola jumoke.aladenola@yahoo.com Jan-23    
Pakistan Abdul Mannan Mustafa abdulmannan100598@gmail.com Jan-23    
Poland Kacper Toczylowski kacper.toczylowski@mail.com Mar-23    
Portugal Inês Taborda inestaborda95@gmail.com Jun-24    
Romania Ioana Arbanas ioanaarbanas.md@gmail.com May-24 Oana Falup-Pecurariu Jun-24
Slovenia Keti Vincek keti.vincek@gmail.com Jun-22    
Spain Carlos Grasa carlosdgl_125@hotmail.com Oct-23    
Sudan  Eiman Hamid  eimano.1990@hotmail.com Feb-23 Unable to provide at this time due to Sudan's current situation  
Sweden Annika Malmgren  annika.malmgren87@gmail.com Jun-22 Olof Hertting 2024
Switzerland Nora Fritschi Nora.Fritschi@ukbb.ch Jul-22    
Tanzania Daniel Joshua danieljoshua36@yahoo.com Jun-24    
The Netherlands Navin Boeddha n.boeddha@erasmusmc.nl Jun-23 Annemarie van Rossum  2024
Turkey Burcu Bursal burcubursal@hotmail.com Feb-23    
United Kingdom Maryke Nielsen  maryke.nielsen@gmail.com      
United States Anton Goetz anton.goetz@nih.gov      
 
 
 Young ESPID representatives on the ESPID Board: Eleni Vergadi (2023-2026) and Raluca Lixandru (2021-2024)

 
You can find recent updates on the activities in the committees in our newsletters.
 
Are you interested in one of the activities, please do contact us!
 
Young ESPID country representatives aim to represent their country and be a liaison between Young ESPID board representatives and Young ESPID members.
The above Young ESPID members represent their countries for 2 years, after which new applicants may come forward. If no-one comes forward then the current representative remains in place.
Interested in becoming a country representative and your country is not listed above? Please contact us at youngespid@espid.org and we will send you the information about how to apply.