Young ESPID

Young ESPID is a group of members who are in training and early career, generally under 40 years and/or who are in training / have completed training to become a paediatric infectious disease specialist <3 years ago.

Welcome message
 
Welcome to “Young ESPID”, the next generation of Paediatric Infectious Diseases experts in Europe and beyond. As a group of under-40s we have been actively involved in the ESPID Board and its committees since December 2010. “Young ESPID” was founded as a result of ESPID’s strategic plan 2010-2015. Young ESPID members were stimulated to develop a forum to strengthen PID in Europe and act as a think tank for ESPID.
 
We currently participate in all ESPID committees where we focus on:
•    Improvement of the ESPID website 
•    Communication between ESPID members (forum format) 
•    Improved visibility of ESPID through social media
•    Participation in the organisation of the Walter Marget workshop and the Research Master Class
•    Review of the PID training portfolio in Europe
•    Training possibilities and job opportunities 
•    Development of educational material and guidelines
•    Stimulation of and increased participation in research consortia
•    Initiation of research projects by Young ESPID 
•    Active involvement of Young ESPID in the organisation of ESPID Annual Meetings
•    Two of our members represent our ideas and provide feedback into the board
 
We cordially invite you to become an active member of Young ESPID and help us shape the future of PID in Europe and beyond. New ideas are always welcome!
 
If you are interested in contributing to any of these activities and would like to be kept up-to-date on the activities of Young ESPID you can contact us through youngespid@espid.org
 
With kind regards,
 
Lilly Verhagen and Raluca Lixandru
Young ESPID representatives 
 
 
 
Who’s involved in Young ESPID?
 
Country Representative Email Term Began
Argentina Martin Eduardo Brizuela martin.brizuela1984@gmail.com  
Armenia Sose Margaryan sosemargar@gmail.com Jul-22
Australia Hazel Dobinson h.dobinson@live.com.au  
Belgium Siel Daelemans siel.daelemans@gmail.com Sep-22
Brasil Daniel Jarovsky daniel@jarovsky.com.br  
Bulgaria Petar Velikov petar.kr.velikov@gmail.com  
Cambodia Sam Lyvannak vannak_samly@yahoo.com  
Croatia Vedran Stevanović vedran.stevanovic@gmail.com  
Czech Republic Jitka Bolchová jitka.bolchova@gmail.com Sep-22
Egypt Ali Sobh alisobh82@gmail.com Sep-22
Estonia Piia Jogi Piia.Jogi@kliinikum.ee  
Finland Lauri Ivaska ljivas@utu.fi  
Germany Cihan Papan cihan.papan@uks.eu  
Greece Maria Tsirigotaki mariatsirigot@yahoo.gr  
Hungary  Szofia Hajósi-Kalcakosz szoofia@gmail.com  
India Nabaneeta Dash nabaneetadash@gmail.com Aug-22
Ireland Deirdre Foley deirdrefoley731@gmail.com Jun-22
Israel Liat Ashkenazi-Hoffnung liat.ashkenazi@clalit.org.il Jun-22
Italy Marta Stracuzzi martastrac@gmail.com Aug-22
Malaysia Bazlin Ramly  bazlinramly@gmail.com Sep-22
Nepal Suraj Bhattarai surajbpkihs2012@gmail.com  
Nigeria Olajumoke Aladenola jumoke.aladenola@yahoo.com  
Poland Kacper Toczylowski kacper.toczylowski@mail.com  
Portugal Jorge Rodrigues jorgefcrodrigues@gmail.com  
Romania Flavia Rochman flavia.rochman@hotmail.com Jun-22
Slovenia Keti Vincek keti.vincek@gmail.com  
Spain Carlos Grasa carlosdgl_125@hotmail.com Jun-22
Sweden Katerina Mougkou mougkou@hotmail.co.uk  
Switzerland Nora Fritschi Nora.Fritschi@ukbb.ch Jun-22
The Netherlands Navin Boeddha n.boeddha@erasmusmc.nl Jul-22
Turkey Benhur Çetin benhurcetin@gmail.com  
United Kingdom Charlene Rodrigues charlenemc.rodrigues@gmail.com  
United States Anton Goetz anton.goetz@nih.gov  
   
 
Young ESPID representatives on the ESPID Board:  Lilly Verhagen (2020-2023) and Raluca Lixandru (2021-2024)
Committee for Education: Eleni Vergadi (2019-2022) and Cihan Papan (2020-2023)  
Research Networking Committee: Lauri Ivaska (2020-2023) and Henriette Rudolph (2021-2024)
Committee for Scientific Affairs & Awards: Virginia Ramos Martin (2019-2022) and Charlene Rodrigues (2020-2023)
Young ESPID Social Media: Suraj Bhattarai and John Kopsidas
 
You can find recent updates on the activities in the committees in our newsletters.
Are you interested in one of the activities, please do contact us!
 
Young ESPID country representatives aim to represent their country and be a liaison between Young ESPID board representatives and Young ESPID members.
The above Young ESPID members represent their countries for 2 years, after which new applicants may come forward. If no-one comes forward then the current representative remains in place.
Interested in becoming a country representative and your country is not listed above? Please contact us at youngespid@espid.org and we will send you the information about how to apply.